CMA speakers highlight successful virtual CMA/SME Annual Conference

    A big thank you to all the presenters at CMA’s 123rd Annual Conference. Planning a virtual conference presented its challenges for CMA and SME staff, but we want to thank those members who participated as part of the CMA track. We were thrilled to present cutting-edge sessions covering a wide variety of topics. We appreciate everyone’s flexibility in working with the compressed time schedule necessary to present the conference virtually.

    Jill Cooper, Geosyntec Consultants Inc.
    Chris Neumann, Greenberg Traurig
    Mark Chalmers, Energy Fuels Inc.
    John Watson, Spencer Fane LLP
    Mark Paulsen, Working Athlete
    Ron Miller, Newmont Corporation
    Everod Samuel, Samuel Engineering
    Ryan Miles, The Electrum Group
    Shannon Mann, All About Mining
    Allison Anderson, Nevada Mining Association

    I was pleased to participate in a Facebook Live event along with Dave Kanagy, Executive Director at SME, Bob Schafer, SME President, and Bruce Wagner of Wagner Equipment Co. We all met at Wagner Equipment to do a live drawing for a CAT Utility Terrain Vehicle donated by Wagner Equipment. Proceeds from the raffle benefit the SME Foundation.

    More than 1,300 attendees participated in the conference that featured 207 live and on-demand sessions, networking opportunities and an exhibit hall with 180 exhibiting companies. If you didn’t attend the conference you can still access the Virtual Expo by creating a free account here. Thank you to all our sponsors for making the conference possible.

    We also want to congratulate the recipients of the CMA Environmental Stewardship Awards, as well as the joint CMA/DRMS Reclamation and Safety Awards.

    Special congratulations to Forrest Luke, who recently retired from Trapper Mine, for receiving the DRMS Dr. James A. Pendleton Mined Land Reclamation Award.

    See all the award recipients and view the virtual presentation here.

    I would like to thank Jimmy Boswell of Peabody Energy for serving as Chair of the CMA Water Quality Committee for many years. Jimmy brought both a national and state perspective to the committee in reviewing issues of interest to the CMA membership. Jimmy also worked drafted numerous comments and coordinated those efforts closely with other CMA members. Please thank Jimmy for his years of service as Committee Chair.

    Chantell Johnson of Tri-State Generation and Transmission will become the next Chair of the committee beginning with the March meeting. Chantell is an active member of the CMA Water Quality Committee and has been contributing to Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association, Inc. over the past 22 years, currently as a Senior Environmental Planner in Tri-State’s Environmental Services group. Chantell has been participating in Colorado water quality standards and permitting stakeholder groups for more than 15 years, providing input on permit practices and negotiating water discharge permits for several power plants and coal mines.